You are here

Naukšēni Manor and Park

Naukšēni Manor construction began in the late 16th century on the banks of the River Rūja. Steward’s house gained its present appearance in 1843 and it is a typical Empire style building.

Farther in the park stands the von Grotte family sepulchre, from which only the ruins have been preserved until today.
During Latvia’s first period of independence manor served as a boys training centre but during the Soviet period – as a vocational secondary school. Now the restored manor and its buildings house the Naukšēni Social Correction Educational Institution.

The manor building itself accommodates Naukšēni People Museum aimed at collecting and preserving information about interesting people that have lived in Naukšēni Parish and provide this information to visitors.

Museum displays little dolls dressed in national costumes of 30 different regions created by Marija Muzikante.

 

How to get there: 
Coordinates:
57.883335, 25.447353
An alternative description

Naukšēni district, Naukšēni parish, Naukšēni, Doktorāts, LV-4244
+371 64268021
+371 26452037
+371 64268795
Languages Spoken: 
Payment Methods: 
Admission Fee: 
Discount: 

Guide service for groups of more than 7 people: LVL 5.00

Tourism Object Services: 
Exhibitions
Guide service available
Seminars and conferences
Souvenirs
Themed events
Tourism Object Features: 
Free parking
WC
WiFi Internet
Last updated: 
30.09.2014